So I got back from the CHAT 2016 conference in Orkney last night (a nice LONG drive back down to Yorkshire!) and realised it’s been a couple of months since I updated this blog regularly.

I wish there was some way I could do a PhD by portfolio – a portfolio of conference papers and practical reports, as they’re the way I seem to think the best. It’s really helpful for me to render ideas down into 15-20 minute presentations and then thoughtful questions from other conference attendees help to put things in a new light for me.

I’ve had 2 great conferences in as many weeks and they’ve inspired me to get more active on this blog again as a way of Thinking Out Loud.

(we’ll see how well this fits in with the rest of PhD life…)

Watch this space for conference reviews and research updates as I work through the ongoing synthesis and analysis of my fieldwork data and try to get the rest of my archival and interview data collection done by February!

become-a-writer-they-said-it-will-be-fun-they-said-quote-1

Writer, academic…

