A considerable chunk of my PhD study data is drawn from Heritage at Risk reporting for the OTA estate. Specifically, the OTA now has no sites on the H@R register and I’m interested in looking through their old monitoring reports to see how issues were identified and then addressed. As part of this, I need to understand how Risk is assessed and reported, so I yesterday I attended the DerwentWISE HAR training session for assessing risk in built heritage (buildings) at Cromford Mill.

© Copyright Roger Cornfoot and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

Here’s some info on the DerwentWISE project from their website: “The DerwentWISE Landscape Partnership has embarked on an exciting three year project to survey over 1,000 heritage assets within the landscape of the Lower Derwent Valley.  [This is a] significant step forward in the management of heritage at risk and prevent the further loss of historic buildings, monuments and features.  At the core of the Heritage at Risk project area sits the internationally important Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site.  Through this project we will be able to survey and record the many attributes that contribute to the outstanding universal value of this special place…”

It was a beautiful day in a beautiful place. I was really interested to meet the first batch of volunteers and to hear their reasons for volunteering – they included retired or semi-retired heritage professionals, teachers, chartered surveyors, museum curators, reenactors and people from unrelated fields with an interest in history and finding out more about their local area.

© Copyright David Dixon and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence.

The project is being delivered by ArcHeritage and I’m very grateful for them letting me attend this training session. I’m looking forward to attending their Archaeological Features H@R training early next month.

(I’m using CreativeCommons images because my digital camera gave up the ghost).

