Here’s another discovery from my research/archive trip up to Otterburn. I found a box file containing all of the original field diaries from the 1975 Year of Heritage field survey of the OTA – this formed the basis of the original assessment for the Estate, and the 1995 “Fifty Centuries of Peace and War”. It was so nice to be able to leaf through and see the annotated maps and tidy descriptions. I’ve followed several debates on the BAJR facebook page about whether going paperless as an archaeologist is a good idea. I’m on the fence about it – backups, instant duplication and sharing of results, and autorecovery are amazing! – but I can’t imagine accessing any digital information from 1975 would be as easy as flicking through these notebooks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

