Hello; I’m a relatively new PhD candidate at the University of Sheffield Department of Archaeology. I am using landscape as a framework for studying the management of the archaeological resource within an active military training estate.

I expect I will use this space to report on conferences I’ve attended, the progress of my research (pending permission from my research partners – more on that later!), and general thoughts on life, the universe, and everything. I’m also a bit of an SF and horror nerd so may digress into these topics occasionally. Consider this fair warning.

As for the title – I do landscape archaeology, and I like squid… Not as a foodstuff, but as an inkfish: to someone who, like me, loves maps, ink, illustration and representation of space, squid and other cephalopods who can basically re-illustrate their personal/bodily topography on a whim are really, really cool.

